Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: FX 6300? Anyone use this CPU?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
I put this build on hold:

FX 6300 @ Stock (will OC later on)
8GB Ram
Radeon 7770 OC Edition

I've been browsing the forums and read somewhere that I won't be able to run most games at full speed. I thought since Dolphin is so CPU intensive then it should run fine @ 1680 x 1050. Huh

I know my graphics card is fine and I have enough ram, just anxious about the processor. Does anyone use it?
I wanna play Wind Waker, Super Smash Brothers (Brawl and Melee) and some other games.
I'm not an expert but since dolphin is so cpu intensive you might want to go with something a bit better for example like the i5 2500k or i5 3570k, they cost a bit more than the fx 6300 but it is definitely worth it, but that's just personal choice I have never used AMD. That being said, the AMD FX series is under the "very fast" category in the CPU hierarchy https://forums.dolphin-emu.org/Thread-do...-hierarchy you should be able to run most games at full speed so I wouldn't worry too much if I were you Smile
(07-25-2013, 03:32 AM)linker357 Wrote: [ -> ]I'm not an expert but since dolphin is so cpu intensive you might want to go with something a bit better for example like the i5 2500k or i5 3570k, they cost a bit more than the fx 6300 but it is definitely worth it, but that's just personal choice I have never used AMD. That being said, the AMD FX series is under the "very fast" category in the CPU hierarchy https://forums.dolphin-emu.org/Thread-do...-hierarchy you should be able to run most games at full speed so I wouldn't worry too much if I were you Smile
I definitely would if I had the money xD. But right now, the FX 6300 is all I can afford ~ hopefully it all works out well. Gonna see if they're any benchmarks with the CPU.

What are your specs and hows gameplay?