Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: i3 - i5 - i7 confused
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4
Hi,

I'm fairly new to the wii/gamecube emulation after seeing it on youtube (someone had an i7 processor I believe), anyway i'm looking into building a dedicated dolphin/emulator pc which will be used for wii/gamecube and old retro machines (snes,megadrive etc etc)

Anyway i've been looking for the past week or so on various sites on what is the best options to go for, some say i7 overclocked, others say i3 overclocked.

Now the games I want to play are SMG, wave race,luigis mansion, burnout (GC), smb wii and a few others but these are the main ones.

I currently have a wii that the kids use along with far too many gamecube games on a shelf hence the need for this really....can sit in the corner and do the same sort of job (I know not perfectly but you get the drift)

I have an old graphics card kicking around which is a Geforce 7950 GX2 1Gb DDR3 PCI-E card, would that be suitable for most games ? Also have a 1tb and 500GB hard drive gathering dust here.

Now i've built lots of pc's in the past just not really for gaming, mainly for basic day to day work or business use so i'm a little confused when it comes to what is the best option in terms of i3,i5 or i7 and whether it's worth overclocking etc (never have in the past but willing to learn)

Any advice would be great and apologies for the length of this post.

On another note I have seen the following 2 pc's for sale on another site for less than £250 inc delivery (used of course but no idea whether they would work or not as they don't know either)

Sugo SG06 Case wih Power Supply
Zotac G43ITX-A-E, LGA 775, Intel Motherboard (Built in WiFi)
4GB RAM
Q6600 with passive Gemini Cooler (stock speed)
Passive ATI HD7750
Slim Line Disc Drive

and

AMD Phenom II X2 550 3.1GHz Black Edition