Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Should I be able to play Mario Galaxy at 1080 with no lag with these specs?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6
i7-4770K CPU @ 3.50 GHz (8 CPUs) ~3.5GHz

16384 MB Ram

Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit

GTX 770 GPU

The game starts to lag pretty badly when I do anything but native resolution. I was hoping to play the game in HD. I'm looking to get new computer parts soon anyway, what should I focus on to upgrade?
Thank you for the suggestions. I've never done over clocking before, I think I'll probably avoid that if I can, I'm not the best with computers haha. If I don't do any over clocking do you still recommend the same new parts?
Eh if he plays games I'd still get 16Gb.  New games coming out are using upwards of 5-6Gb and less memory pressure is better.
Awesome, thank you for the suggestions! Smile
(10-12-2015, 06:09 AM)admin89 Wrote: [ -> ]i fail to see any new game  can use that much memory like you said unless you have alot of programs run on background and you use high res texture
my system doesn't use more than 4GB when gaming

I've been playing ark survival evolved and Witcher 3 and ARK consumes 5.1 Gb on low settings while Witcher uses 4Gb by itself.  And many other current gen games have the same behavior.  
While Battlefront claims it wants 16, it actually uses around 4, so it doesn't run great if you have 4 and an OS, but leaves space on eight. However, Todd Howard seemed pretty sure that Fallout 4 will use 8 on its own, and Bethesda games should often be given more than they ask to allow room for mods.