Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Will Either of These Laptops Run Dolphin Smoothly?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Hello everyone! I am new to the Dolphin Forums  Big Grin

I found out about this amazing emulator over the Winter Break, and fortunately for me, my parents decided to finally let me have a laptop this Christmas! I am still on the search for one though because we forgot about shopping for one until the Winter Sales were already over, so this Presidents Day, we're making an effort to choose a laptop for me.

The games I am hoping to play are:
- Super Smash Bros. Melee (for me, this running smoothly is a must)
- Paper Mario and the Thousand Year Door (this game is still playable while it's slightly laggy)

These games are ones I will probably get to in the future, but aren't as much of a priority:
- Mario Kart Wii
- Super Mario Galaxy 1 and 2
- Legend of Zelda: Wind Waker
- Super Smash Bros Brawl/Project M

I've had my eye on these two laptops for a bit now, but I'm unsure which would perform better:

------------------------------------------
Lenovo Y40-80 Laptop - 80FA001CUS
------------------------------------------
Link: http://shop.lenovo.com/us/en/laptops/len...es/y40-80/
Specs:
CPU: 5th Generation Intel Core i7-5500U Processor (2.40GHz 1600MHz 4MB)
RAM: 8.0GB PC3-12800 DDR3L 1600 MHz
GPU: AMD Radeon R9 M275 2GB
Operating System: Windows 8.1 x64

and

-----------------------------------
Lenovo G510 Laptop 59402507
-----------------------------------
Link: http://shop.lenovo.com/us/en/laptops/len...ries/g510/
Specs:
CPU: 4th Generation Intel Core i7-4700MQ Processor (2.4 GHz 1600MHz 6MB)
RAM: 8.0GB PC3-12800 DDR3 SDRAM 1600 MHz
GPU: Intel® HD Graphics 4600
Operating System: Windows 8.1 x64

(Please remember, I am hoping to be able to run Melee at 100% for the most part)