Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Should I buy GPU or CPU to improve Dolphin?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5

Sir Glame

Hi All,

Apologies in advance if this is a noob question but I'm new to Dolphin (but loving it!!) and this is my first ever post! Currently I am running the lastest build Dolphin 3.0-201 64-bit and my PCs specs are:

Intel i7 CPU @2.93 GHz
8 gig RAM
Nvidia GTS 450 Graphics card.
Windows 7 64 bit.

I have limited cash but am thinking about an upgrade to boost performance of Dolphin and PC generally. I've noticed games like Mario Galaxy, Donkey Kong Country Returns and a few others struggle to get to 50FPS, even after playing with all the graphics settings.

So my question is which will power up my frame rate and have Dolphin running faster - a kick-ass graphics card or a kick-ass CPU??

Thanx in advance for anyone who replies Smile
(11-19-2011, 02:20 PM)Sir Glame Wrote: [ -> ]Hi All,

Apologies in advance if this is a noob question but I'm new to Dolphin (but loving it!!) and this is my first ever post! Currently I am running the lastest build Dolphin 3.0-201 64-bit and my PCs specs are:

Intel i7 CPU @2.93 GHz
8 gig RAM
Nvidia GTS 450 Graphics card.
Windows 7 64 bit.

I have limited cash but am thinking about an upgrade to boost performance of Dolphin and PC generally. I've noticed games like Mario Galaxy, Donkey Kong Country Returns and a few others struggle to get to 50FPS, even after playing with all the graphics settings.

So my question is which will power up my frame rate and have Dolphin running faster - a kick-ass graphics card or a kick-ass CPU??

Thanx in advance for anyone who replies Smile

A better CPU.Get a 1155 motherboard and a i5-2500k(and an aftermarket cooler if you want to overclock it) if you want the best for Dolphin.