• Login
  • Register
  • Dolphin Forums
  • Home
  • FAQ
  • Download
  • Wiki
  • Code


Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums › Game Modifications › Cheats, Hacks, & Game Patches v
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 Next »

NTSC/JP Xenoblade 60fps and other mods
View New Posts | View Today's Posts

Pages (31): « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 ... 31 Next »
Jump to page 
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 4 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Thread Modes
NTSC/JP Xenoblade 60fps and other mods
08-22-2017, 02:57 AM
#11
One More Try Offline
Posting Freak
*****
Posts: 886
Threads: 23
Joined: Dec 2014
Took my first look at the JP code. It is a bit different, which means I can't just change my addresses to a new offset. However, it's likely easier to make a 60fps code for the JP version. For example, you don't need to adjust the run speed at all. So I'll casually work on it with the intent of only releasing one version.

As for progress on the English code, it has basically come to testing what I have, which is a slow, meticulous process. The changes aren't that important either, mostly just 60 fps cutscenes, and I don't feel like you notice it too much. If anyone has any requests for the 60 fps code or if they saw something that could be improved, let me know.
Find
Reply
08-22-2017, 11:59 AM
#12
Kurausukun Offline
Zeitgenössischer Wurst
*******
Posts: 1,034
Threads: 62
Joined: Mar 2014
Wow, that's kind of interesting. If 60fps cutscenes work, or even if we have to settle for them being 30fps but correctly timed, then I'm pretty satisfied. Of course, my CPU isn't good enough to maintain full speed in battles, but that can be fixed. Anyway, you mentioned things like waterfalls being moving textures, so it sounds like it would be impossible to make those run in 60fps. Anyway, as far as I remember, the only other thing that wasn't working was 60fps menus, but I don't remember if we determined that was impossible or not.
Find
Reply
08-22-2017, 05:46 PM
#13
One More Try Offline
Posting Freak
*****
Posts: 886
Threads: 23
Joined: Dec 2014
Waterfalls were fixed in the latest code by stopping the moving texture every other frame. They look alright. I don't think there's much to be gained from 60fps menus, so I was going to leave it alone. I would have to slow down the cursor and, I think, correct character animations in the equip menu.
Find
Reply
08-22-2017, 08:49 PM
#14
Kurausukun Offline
Zeitgenössischer Wurst
*******
Posts: 1,034
Threads: 62
Joined: Mar 2014
I'm sure they look fine, I was just saying that I can't imagine a way to animate them at the right speed and also have them "change" 60 times per second. Unless there's some code that states how far the textures move, and you could modify that to half and then let it run at 60fps, but that sounds like a ton of work and is probably not worth it. And the menus seem to be a similar case. Again, it's not a big deal, but you asked for requests, so in a perfect world, that's what I would like, but I'm totally fine if that doesn't quite make it in. The work you've done on this is already amazing.
Find
Reply
08-22-2017, 11:53 PM (This post was last modified: 08-23-2017, 05:20 PM by One More Try.)
#15
One More Try Offline
Posting Freak
*****
Posts: 886
Threads: 23
Joined: Dec 2014
Thanks for the request. If I knew where the animation values were for the equipment screen, I might be more eager to do it. So far all I can do is scale the character models up/down lol.

Oh ok, right. I actually did find the Waterfall Texture offsets and was able to halve the distance they change each frame. The problem was that on key frames (probably where the offset/transform resets back to 0) they load custom values over 3 frames while resetting it, rather than calculating those offsets. With 60 fps that means there's new frames placed between the custom value frames that weren't there before. I had no idea how to deal with that and I tried to switch back to 30 fps waterfalls for those key frames, but that didn't look right at all. If I worked hard, I could maybe figure out a fix for one waterfall, but it's pointless as it would only apply to one specific waterfall.

If you're interested you can look at them with the stable, non-beta code in the original post. Just use one of the below:
Waterfall Codes: (Show Spoiler)
$$waterfall glitchy
C23E5B50 00000002
C043001C EC22102A
EC420824 00000000
C23E5124 00000002
C043001C EC22102A
EC420824 00000000


$Waterfall glitch test fix
C248C048 00000004 //30fps 60fps switch
3E808000 6294182C //182c
82940000 2C140000
41A20008 C3C2CE5C
60000000 00000000
C23DFE7C 00000007 //alt match keyframe
3E408000 6252182C
81D20000 2C0E0000
40A2001C EE810824
EE94082A FC140040
40A2000C 39C00004
91D20000 FC010040
60000000 00000000
C23E5150 00000005 //Countdown
D03D0018 3E808000
6294182C 82B40000
2C150000 41A2000C
3AB5FFFF 92B40000
60000000 00000000

The JP mods went really quick. It should be equivalent to the ENG beta code now, but I'll have to play through the game a bit.

/edit JP mod is now up to date with the latest experimental changes and running great. I think it runs better than the English version. I'm going to fix text speed for ENG/JP and move the optional camera fixes over to JP next.
Find
Reply
08-24-2017, 05:40 PM
#16
Kurausukun Offline
Zeitgenössischer Wurst
*******
Posts: 1,034
Threads: 62
Joined: Mar 2014
Ah, okay. I didn't know the waterfalls were programmed so detailed. Makes sense now. Good to hear the JP mods went well. I'll just look forward to the text speed fix, and I'll probably be satisfied with that.
Find
Reply
08-24-2017, 09:57 PM (This post was last modified: 08-25-2017, 08:59 AM by One More Try.)
#17
One More Try Offline
Posting Freak
*****
Posts: 886
Threads: 23
Joined: Dec 2014
I think Text fixes are finished. I noticed the instant text display option didn't affect cutscenes, so I made an optional code to make that instant too.

I found the animation speed of the menus, it was a common value being used rather oddly.

/edit Because I found the speed of the equipment screen character animation, I was able to look at the movie animation speeds. There's just one frame counter that determines everything. If I pause the counter every other frame, the movies run at half speed (correct speed at 60fps), but that's pointless because you're pausing the animation. Unfortunately, you can't just halve the value because the counting function uses integers. In various places the integer is converted to a float, and halving the value of the float does slow the animation properly, but I don't think you can get it such that everything works right.
Find
Reply
08-25-2017, 05:44 PM
#18
Kurausukun Offline
Zeitgenössischer Wurst
*******
Posts: 1,034
Threads: 62
Joined: Mar 2014
Ugh, float->integer and vice versa is always a nightmare. Close but no cigar. But hey, thanks for trying.
Find
Reply
08-25-2017, 09:47 PM
#19
gamemasterplc Offline
Above and Beyond
*******
Posts: 1,111
Threads: 7
Joined: Mar 2016
float to int is the smaller nightmare which can be done in 1 instruction called fctiwz
Website is gamemasterplc.com. Youtube Channel is gamemasterplc.
Website Find
Reply
08-25-2017, 11:40 PM (This post was last modified: 08-25-2017, 11:42 PM by One More Try.)
#20
One More Try Offline
Posting Freak
*****
Posts: 886
Threads: 23
Joined: Dec 2014
Wow. I had an odd idea that got it surprisingly close to 60fps movies. I paused the counter every other frame, like before, but when it wrote to a float I checked the counter and increased the float by 0.5 if it was paused. This effectively caused the floats to count up by 0.5 every frame. Anything checking the counter as an integer just sees it get paused every other frame, without further modifications. I wasn't sure what would happen, but apparently all the scene timings (like camera switches) work off the integer and don't need anything more than to be staggered. All the animations work off the floats and do need the 0.5s. The only problems are some visual glitches. Check it out if you want to:

MovieTest: (Show Spoiler)
$full movie
0416A9E8 60000000
0416A9EC 60000000
0416A9F0 60000000
C216AA30 00000002
3E608000 82731824
7C049A14 00000000
C216AA38 00000001
7C039A14 00000000
C218626c 00000007
EC200828 3E808000
82741824 EE600024
FC019840 40810018
2C130001 41820010
EE60002A EE609824
EC21982A 60000000
60000000 00000000
C2186344 00000007
EC200828 3E808000
82741824 EE600024
FC019840 40810018
2C130001 41820010
EE60002A EE609824
EC21982A 60000000
60000000 00000000
C21846c4 00000007
EC200828 3E808000
82741824 EE600024
FC019840 40810018
2C130001 41820010
EE60002A EE609824
EC21982A 60000000
60000000 00000000
C2181940 00000007
EC200828 3E808000
82741824 EE600024
FC019840 40810018
2C130001 41820010
EE60002A EE609824
EC21982A 60000000
60000000 00000000
C2181978 00000007
EC200828 3E808000
82741824 EE600024
FC019840 40810018
2C130001 41820010
EE60002A EE609824
EC21982A 60000000
60000000 00000000
C21846c4 00000007
EC200828 3E808000
82741824 EE600024
FC019840 40810018
2C130001 41820010
EE60002A EE609824
EC21982A 60000000
60000000 00000000
C2186224 00000007
EC200828 3E808000
82741824 EE600024
FC019840 40810018
2C130001 41820010
EE60002A EE609824
EC21982A 60000000
60000000 00000000
C2182974 00000007
EC200828 3E808000
82741824 EE600024
FC019840 40810018
2C130001 41820010
EE60002A EE609824
EC21982A 60000000
60000000 00000000
C20BAD8C 00000003 //Grass double value if fraction
EEA1082A FE810878
FC34A86E C01F2F48
60000000 00000000
C248C048 00000006 //waterfall pause 2
C3C2CE5C 3E808081
62949E68 82940000
2C140002 41820018
3E808000 82941824 //Gr1824
2C140000 41A20008
EFDEF028 00000000
C244B714 00000004
3E808000 62941824
80140000 68000001
90140000 38630001
60000000 00000000 //waterfall end
C244B468 00000001 //disable run speed update
60000000 00000000
C2137DE8 00000003 //UI Speeds Half
EC01082A EC000824
EC210024 C0030010
60000000 00000000
C205C414 00000002 //Climb fix
EC1FF82A EFFF0024
EC01EFFA 00000000
04819e78 0000001E //set run speed manually
04819e68 00000002
04819e68 00000001 //60 fps
22CA54C0 00000000
04CA54C0 3F000000 //60 fps speed
0466766c 3F000000 //intro speed adjust
E0000000 80008000
20664268 808347D4 //intro 60fps
04819e68 00000001
E0000000 80008000

The reason the code is so long is because I had to copy and paste 7 lines of code every time the counter changes to a float. I don't know if I can use a " bla " branch to just write the code once and continually link to it. Not sure about those.
Find
Reply
« Next Oldest | Next Newest »
Pages (31): « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 ... 31 Next »
Jump to page 


  • View a Printable Version
  • Subscribe to this thread
Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)



Powered By MyBB | Theme by Fragma

Linear Mode
Threaded Mode