Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Why is dolphine not fully using CPU and GPU?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
I am a newbie of Dolphin. My Dolphin version is SVN R 4771. I tried both of 64 bit and 32 bit version. I played the super Mario, most of the time I only get 20 ~25 fps.
The CPU usage is always about 50%, and all of 4 core is used. GPU usage is about 25%, I use EVGA Precision to monitor the video card.

My PC:
Asus P5K SE, Intel Q6600, Asus 8800GT 256M, 4G DDR2 800
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit.

Thanks.

Why doesnt it use it all to gain more fps.
Dolphin only uses two cores( or should , the threads could sneak to the other cores). And dolphin is not GPU dependent so It won't use a lot of it
Well, if you have a 64-bit system, then you should use the 64-bit version of the emulator. What game exactly you tried to run? Because Dolphin run both Gamecube and Wii games... Also, make sure the "dual core" option is enabled in the Options window, and let us know what graphics plugin you are using as well...
maybe you should tweak your settings. The default settings have broken throttle (in that version), use efb to ram which is slow, and many other settings which make it slow
Dolphin tends to be heavier on CPU than the GPU.

Even if rendering a game like twilight princess at highest possible details and AA on 1080p, gfx card still goes only to maybe 60-65 celsius at maximum (I tested on nvidia gtx 280 and a radeon 4000 series card on other pc). Yet the cpu can go even up to 60 or more which is pretty high for emulation.

For comparison, playing a game like Mass effect 2 on the pc with max details can easily rocket the gpu to like 82-85c in an hour or two depending on fan settings
try a newer rev too......