Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Metal 2 macOS (and iOS?) questions
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

tomyikin

Apple today just announced the new version of their Metal API which supposedly increases draw call throughput by a lot and adds new features. I am not a graphics developer so I do not really know if any of this is relevant to Dolphin.
What I am asking is if Dolphin would benefit on macOS from a Metal backend, particularly given that Apple does not seem inclined to update any open graphics standards...  Rolleyes

I know all the devs are busy with more cross-platform backends and there seems to be a focus on removing unmaintained backends, so I guess this question is a hypothetical.
MacOS would greatly benefit from a Metal backend, especially considering how many Intel MacOS users we have and how those users get screwed by crappy GL drivers that Apple doesn't care to update.

There's a couple issues here that I can see

1. Nobody cares to write one. We have a couple MacOS devs but neither of them care about writing a graphics backend. There was one person a month or two ago swing by mildly interested, but I dunno how much progress they made.

2. After the mess we just now recently got out of with D3D12, trying to sell everybody on merging a Metal backend would be a very, very hard sell. It would likely have one maintainer, and locked to one OS. Sound familiar? This issue could be alleviated a little bit with Stenzek's work on refactoring VideoCommon to make maintaining backends a lot simpler, but that still doesn't make the problem go away. If somebody wanted to write a metal backend, I wouldn't be surprised if it was condemned to being a fork that MacOS users would have to go download and build.