Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: First Intel and Dolphin build
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hey guys! So I'm new here. I've been playing around with Dolphin on my laptop computer and it "works" but it slow and laggy with just about any setting above low. I'm wanting to build a computer to run it, but I usually run AMD, so I am new to this Intel setup and with their performance benchmarks. I did some research, but the most I could get out of it was that Intel CPU was the only way to go and that I need a decent amount of ram. Below is a parts list I put together and I just wanted to see if I could get a consensus from the group about how it would run.

CPU: Intel Core i5-6400 2.7GHz Quad-Core Processor  
Motherboard: MSI B150I GAMING PRO AC Mini ITX LGA1151 Motherboard  
Memory: Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-2133 Memory  
Storage: Sandisk Z400s 128GB 2.5" Solid State Drive
Video Card: Sapphire Radeon R7 370 4GB Nitro Video Card  
Case: Fractal Design Node 202 HTPC Case w/450W Power Supply

Total price here for the rig would be around $650 with everything being new, and I am trying to stay under $700. 

If you have any changes or recommendations please let me know! Nothing has been purchased yet so I'm game for redoing the setup if it is just total junk.
Dolphin typically performs better on nvidia over AMD GPUs, but with D3D11 and Vulkan, AMD GPUs are fine too. If you're going for an AMD GPU though, why an older gen card?
(10-27-2016, 09:47 AM)Helios Wrote: [ -> ]Dolphin typically performs better on nvidia over AMD GPUs, but with D3D11 and Vulkan, AMD GPUs are fine too. If you're going for an AMD GPU though, why an older gen card?

Was trying to stay around $140~$160 for the GPU, but I'm open to suggestions about a different one if it keeps the budget at or under $700!

1050/ti sounds good for that price.