Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Anyone have a i5-4690k based build they can share?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Greetings,

I'm interested in building my first PC specifically for Dolphin (but will use it for other emulators as well). I've never built one before and I'm lost with all the options. All I know is I want to use an i5-4690k just in case I want to OC. I'd like a medium sized case and I'm not necessarily looking for liquid cooled to keep the price down. Anyone have any configurations they can share so I can get started? pcpartpicker.com helps but it's quite overwhelming. Since I can't buy local I don't want to be stuck with something I have to ship back. Any advice would be appreciated.
Here are some of mine I'm sitting on:
http://pcpartpicker.com/user/Nrmgator/saved/6KgPxr
http://pcpartpicker.com/user/Nrmgator/saved/njx2FT

You can always add a GTX 970 if you want better graphics.
I'm currently running a G3258 @ 4.6ghz and a GTX 660. I can run Mario Galaxy 2 full speed with 3-4x internal resolution. The G3258 can be had for as little as $100 with a Z97 MSI motherboard from microcenter (fantastic deal). I instead run a asrock h97 itx board with overclocking abilities, wifi and Bluetooth.

I am able to play max Payne 3, Borderlands the pre-sequel and other sub 2013-14 games very well. Currently I'm considering an upgrade to a 970 just for gaming outside of dolphin.

This summer I sold my 4670k, motherboard and second 660 to save some money and reduce my case footprint. Haven't looked back
Yeah, its preferable to get a g3258 rather than the costly i5 to save money. Whereas, the g3258 is comparable to the stp of i7's when overclocked.