Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: MSI GX60 3AE-212FR
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi there,

I'm new with Dolphin.
I wish I could play to my favorite Gamecube games like The Wind Waker, Ocarina of Time, Twilight Princess, Majora's Mask (wait, I only played with Zelda games??) and Mario Kart Double Dash (no Cool ).

I bought a new PC one year ago with a configuration set up to run actual (actual from last year thus) PC games with high quality of details. I played to Skyrim, Borderlands and Hitman with high details without issues (medium for Hitman btw).

I heard from some specialized forum this laptop has one default : its processor. It is actually bounding the GPU capacity...
Too bad, I read here the Dolphin emulator use essentially the processor :/

Here is the config (the laptop I bougth last year)
http://www.materiel.net/ordinateur-porta...89143.html

I just tried to launch "The Wind Waker" but its not running in a way I could enjoy the game (the FPS came low sometimes in spite of my low details settings) !

Can you help me a bit to understand that ? I have to confess, I did not understand everythings in the available settings... There are so many choices depending on specific configuration ! I need some start points to understand that.
Is my laptop really so bad at running GC games ??
Do I have to overclock my laptop ? I never did that before, is it safe even for a laptop ?

Thanks a lot for your help, and thanks for ceating such a great tool Blush
Seems you're getting either CPU bottlenecked or Dolphin is using the integrated graphics. Assign Dolphin to high-performance in Catayst Control Center.
The Ax series APU chips don't have great per-core speeds compared to Intel i5/i7 3rd or 4th gen CPUs.
If what Anti-Ultimate suggested doesn't work, you're getting a CPU bottleneck.
Well. It seems that Dolphin actually uses the integrated graphics...