Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: The classic CPU vs GPU debate; important for new laptop
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
I'm not really new to this website, but it's my first time posting, so here goes. I'm getting a new laptop, and found this ASUS laptop for just under $1000. I'm wondering if it'll be able to play most GCN/wii games at a reasonable speed. It has 8GB ram, a Nvidia GeForce GT 740M GPU and an i5 3317U processor clocked at 1.7Ghz. I was wondering whether the processor will slow down the games considerably, as I am looking to play SSBM, Wind Waker, Metroid Prime Trilogy and Super Mario Sunshine (all games that I legally own). The graphics card seems fine, I'm just concerned about the processor, because 1.7Ghz is not very impressive. Also, the specifications describe the GPU as a "4GB DDR3 GT740M" video card. Is there such thing as 4gb dedicated graphics in a $999 laptop, or could it just be an error? Or am I misreading it? I'm looking to use the latest dolphin build, if that's important. Will 'turbo boosting' the computer increase the speed significantly? I doubt it can run Metroid, but will the others work fine? Thank you.

Here's the description from the website:
Intel Core i5 3317U 1.7Ghz (Turbo 2.6Ghz) CPU, 15.6" (1366 x 768) Touch Display, 4GB DDR3 RAM FREE Upgrade to 8G RAM,
24GB + 750GB Hybrid HDD, Intel PM43 Chipset, NVIDIA 4GB DDR3 GT740M
Video Card, VGA (D-Sub), HDMI, DVD-S Writer, Speakers, Wireless-N,
Gigabit Ethernet, 4 Cell 2950mAh Battery, 720P HD WebCam, 1 x USB 3.0, 2
x USB 2.0, SD Card Reader, Windows 8 64bit

(SOURCE: http://www.computeralliance.com.au/asus-...ade-8g-ram)
http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/Core_i5/In...essor.html
2.6GHz is single core turbo (Only 1 core active)