Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: I'm new to this and have some questions
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I just got a new computer last week that can finally run Dolphin, and my Wiimote Plus and Nunchuck arrived in the post today. I have some questions as a new user that I hope some of you can help me with, though, as I've gotten some odd behaviour in the emulator.

Firstly, I started with the most recent version, 3.0-735. Things went just fine until I started trying to pair my new Wiimote with the emulator today. The built-in bluetooth on the laptop sees the Wiimote just fine, but when Dolphin would pair it and then refuse to let me configure, I did research and saw people suggesting bluetooth stack software. I tried three different ones, none of which wanted to work, had to get rid of. That's when 735 began crashing constantly. I can open it and close it, but if I do literally anything else, the emulator will crash.

I went back to 3.0-734, and that seems to be stable. It even lets me use my Wiimote and Nunchuck, but the Configure button is greyed out and I can't seem to use it at all. Oddly, the Wiimote and Nunchuck both work in two games I tested, New Super Mario Bros. and Resident Evil 4. Why can I not configure my Wiimote though?

On that subject, I am unable to point the Wiimote at the computer and move the 'hand' icon in the Wii Home Menu, nor in Skyward Sword or Punch Out which seem to require 'cursor' movement to move past the menus. I've never owned a Wii so I'm unsure; do I require the sensor bar? I've got one on its way in the post, will the cursor movement work once I add that? I assume I will -have- to configure the Wiimote in Dolphin for this, but again, it won't let me and I don't know why.