Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Questions on LLE and slowdowns
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Hello all,

I'm new to Dolphin, and emulation in general, and needed to ask some questions. I know that many games seem to have issues with sound when using HLE emulation for DSP engine. What I don't get is why many games can get significant slowdowns when using LLE recompiler. Some games, like Tales of Symphonia for GC, will go as far as dropping emulation speed to lower than 70% in certain places when LLE recompiler is used.

HLE seems to have the most trouble with GC games (at least the ones I tried) and does make the performance of other games dip below 90% every once in a while. If there is some reason I'd like to know about it, especially if it is something I'm doing wrong.

Cheers.
You're doing nothing wrong. But LLE needs a powerful CPU to work flawlessly. Yours will have to be overclocked if you plan to use LLE
LLE stands for low level emulation, meaning the DSP hardware is emulated as accurately as possible. It acts like the real GC/Wii DSP would, updating registers, executing microcode, etc. This makes it vastly more accurate, but also CPU intensive. HLE stands for high level emulation, meaning if we know the large scale actions the DSP is supposed to do, we don't need to emulate everything, and we can skip a number of steps. IIRC, HLE audio essentially grabs and decodes audio as soon as the location in memory is given, so it's both faster and less demanding on the CPU. However, HLE audio isn't as accurate, you are skipping steps after all. Sometimes it's not a problem, but it is for some games.

Sorry for the long explanation, I'm basically repeating LordVador. Just felt like giving you a more detailed picture of what's going on Smile