Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Performance gains with new video card?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Hey guys. Just wanted to ask, how much of a performance gain will I get upgrading my video card? Here's what I've got

i5 2500k@ 3.8ghz
GTS 250 (which is a rebranded 9800 GTX+)

I'm playing windwaker now and loving it, but this 250 gets up to ~75C when using the new "1.5x internal resolution" option, and I get slowdowns during cutscenes and the like. It can't handle 2x internal resolution at full speed at all.

I'm looking at either a 560 Ti or a 6950. Will I be able to run dolphin at 1.5x, 2x, without much issue? Or is this stuff also handled by the CPU and I wouldn't see any performance gain? (Not likely due to the high temp issue.. obviously I'm no expert though)

Thanks for any help or info
Well I don't think changing your videocard will change anything. The internal resolution has much to do with CPU.

My configuration is very close to yours (but AMD 4ghz ATI 5770), I play windwaker too and I don't get slowdowns at all. I play in 1280x720 and internal *2.

So I don't know why you get slowdowns... weird.

Settings maybe... Which ones did you use?
Thanks for the replies. Here are my settings

[Image: settingsr.th.png]
I say get a new GPU and OC your CPU a little more (4.0 Ghz).
I'm running the game really well, but in dx11.

Here's the video, specs and settings are in the info:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kqF3RnHIPz8

Only reason I'm getting slowdown in the video is because of fraps. I don't with it off or with my new recording program dxtory.