Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: core i7 and my Dolphin game speed
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Hello everybody!
Before everything else: i struggled for about 2 minutes between "support" and "general discussion"-in the end i chose the latter to open this thread, wich will surely be in the wrong section ^_^

Anyway...my question is fairly trivial: i recently upgraded my old core2 laptop to a brand new HP pavillion dv6 with a core i7 Q720 processor, 4 GB of RAM and an ATI mobility radeon 5650 with 1GB video memory.

Now, here is the point: i do see some improvements on the overall game speed (namely-zelda WW passed from 60 to 90%), but i am still struggling with some games. For example, Mario Kart Double Dash refuses to play at 100% speed-it reaches 90% but also tends to drop down to 65-75% when there is a lot of stuff on screen.

Now, i am not a programmer nor a hardware expert-i bought this laptop mainly to work (3d stuff and graphics), but i thought that Dolphin would be the icing on the cake. Core i7 was supposed to be the cream of the crop, yet some games (like the aforementioned Mario Kart DD) cannot yet reach 100%.

What am i missing here? Is there any magical setting i have forgotten to apply, or are we still far from 100% speed on some games? Or, even worse, core i7 was not the best laptop processor around, and i have been deceived by the evil PC shop salesman? Smile

Thanks in advance,
Fede
Even tho it is a I7 it still have a low overall clock speed.
Plus it's the mobile chip, so it's crap too.
(07-25-2010, 06:24 AM)anthonyda Wrote: [ -> ]Plus it's the mobile chip, so it's crap too.

tbh mobile i7's are monsters too, turbo boost will put it to 2.6-2.9ghz anyways & they beat most equivalent high-end core 2 quad desktop processors in benchmarks. If games are slow it's not his rigs fault.