Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: My Wiimote autopair solution
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4
First, let me introduce myself. I've passively followed this community for a year now and I've been amazed at how it has evolved. I'm a student and a programmer and I'm now posting to share with you and ask feedback on a little utility I made on my spare time.

This utility provides nothing but confort when trying to sync up a (one or more) wiimote(s) to a PC. I have a HTPC capable of running Dolphin and for a while now I've been looking for a way to sync up a wiimote without having to get off my couch.

My solution is a daemon that runs in the background actively searching for Wiimotes and pairing them. Whenever it detects that a Wiimote has been disconnected, it removes them from the Device list so that it is "pairable" (Is that a word?) again with windows. At the moment its a console application because I'm testing it to make sure it's stable, but my intention is to leave it as a daemon running in the background.

Whenever this app detects a process (configurable by a list in an ini file) it stops trying to pair wiimotes and increases its idle time. It still will look for disconnected wiimotes, but that's intended.

I'm putting it here for you guys since it'll probably be useful to someone.
It's a windows application and its only compatible with Microsoft's Stack. And it requires .NET 2.0.

Please test it and let me know how it works for you.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/3071110/WiimoteDaemon.zip

I have an installer ready (that has a silent version of it) to leave it in the Startup folder but I'd like to get some feedback on it's stability first.

PS: This is not the panacea, but it is what it is. Some might find it's a complete load of cr4p others might not. Constructive criticism please.