Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: New Laptop Suggestions
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello there! I am new to using dolphin, and even to gaming in general. As such, I am not very familiar with the various processors and graphics engines on the market. I initially tried to download Dolphin on my old Chromebook, and was successfully able to install it using Linux. However... I only got about 13-17 FPS... so obviously not feasible there. All that to say, I am in the market for a new laptop, something cheap as I am by no means an enthusiast or professional gamer (>$300). Are there any Windows laptops currently on the market that would be feasible to run Dolphin, primarily MKW (With mods such as CTGTP and/or Retro Rewind installed), or am I just out of luck? I read this article, but admittedly most of the technical terms went over my head, and I just want a decent, low-budget laptop that will reliably run Dolphin for my little brother.

I don't even know if this post is allowed (The rules were a bit fuzzy, mostly referencing people who already have a computer), but if not I suppose it will not make it out of moderation anyways.
If it is accepted, then thanks in advance for any help y'all!
Before going farther, there's a few things to consider:

1. if a used Wii or Wii U console is an applicable option or not

2. if an entry-priced Steam Deck is an applicable option or not

Otherwise, in terms of specifically laptops, it'd be great if you could first answer:

A. if you're specifically looking for new, or if refurbished or new is fine

B. if it needs to be already completely assembled or if some do-it-yourself assembly is an option

C. what country and/or region you'd need to be purchasing from (certain hardware isn't always available worldwide)
Sorry for the late reply, life's been crazy.

No, a Wii or Steam deck is not really the route I want to go.