Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Slowdowns in Super Mario Sunshine
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

FerchogtX

Hi there guys!

I hope you can help me, I'm relatively new in GC emulation... I saw the system specs that Dolphin needs to run, I think that what I get is enough to run this emu... unfortunately I got some issues.

Basically, I'm unable to use OpenGL pluging, it does some weird "pauses" and doesn't run fluidly... I've tried many settings on it with no results.
I switched to DX9 pluging (which now works properly...) but I cannot get the supposed 30 fps that Super Mario Sunshine (The only game I want to run by now) is supposed to get... I´ve tried to switch EFB to texture, but some weird bugs ocurr on this game if that setting is on, so I have to leave it on RAM... I've tried many configs on the DSP also and the game properties, but no result.

What I get on Super Mario Sunshine is:
- 11 - 19 fps on stages that get many elements on them (like Delfino Plaza)
- 20 - 23 on places that are a bit lonely
- 30 on the mini games (like in the secret of the cavern episode)

My system Specs are on my sig, but anyway...

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 3 Ghz
RAM: 4 GB DDR2 Dual Channel PC-5300 (667 Mhz)
GPU: nVidia Geforce 6100 nForce 405 (256 MB + 256 MB TurboCache 450 Mhz)
HD: Maxtor Diamond Pro 10 SATA II 7200 RPM 160 GB

I'm using Windows XP Service Pack 3 32 bit (x86), everithing in startup desabled (except ctfmon and nod32) and many useless services disabled... I defragment my DD every 2 weeks more or less with O&O Defrag 11, Video drivers fully up-to-date. My GPU is onboard (Dreamcast games go perfectly) and my MoBo is a PCChips A13G+, I'm even using a chipset cooler to keep temps low, so the GPU doesn't mess up... even if this has not to much to do on this... XD, I'm also using official (?) r4771 build downloaded from http://www.dolphin-emu.com/