Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Upgrading an Older Computer
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

RexFunkhouser

Hello everyone,

Recently I came across a few computers that were being thrown out and took them home with me. I am wondering if any of them are powerful enough to run Dolphin as I've been wanting to get a dedicated emulator PC for my living room. If none of them will work, which one should I upgrade and what should I add? Or is better to just buy the parts and build a computer from scratch. I am trying to spend as little as possible.

I have never built a computer before so I'm sorry if this is a basic question.

I have the following computers:

Dell Optiplex 3010 (i5 version)
Dell Optiplex 990 (i5 version)
Dell Vostro 460 (i5 version)

Thanks in advance!
Lol what a treasure Smile
I would go for Dell Optiplex 3010 which has i5-3470.
You would have to add low TDP graphic card like gt 1030 or gtx 1050 if you wanna pay more. Check for empty pcie slot if available.
i am sure RAM would be low, so you would have to add another RAM stick.

RexFunkhouser

(02-25-2020, 10:28 AM)sirdaniel Wrote: [ -> ]Lol what a treasure Smile
I would go for Dell Optiplex 3010 which has i5-3470.
You would have to add low TDP graphic card like gt 1030 or gtx 1050 if you wanna pay more. Check for empty pcie slot if available.
i am sure RAM would be low, so you would have to add another RAM stick.

Haha I know, they are not the greatest computers but I figured they may be worth a shot. If the CPU is good enough I dont mind replacing everything else. 

Do you think its worth it to keep the 3010 and replace those other parts? Or should I just bite the bullet and buy all the parts for a new build?