Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Texture HD (novice)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2

Rom

Hello, to start by apologizing for my English level.

I would like to do HD textures for Pandora's Tower but I am a beginner and I really don't know where to start, I did some research to get the textures from the game.

According to the tutorials, the textures had the extension "TPL" or "TGA" but inside the iso there were almost only "AAR" files.

Then I did a Dump of the textures, with this method I had a lot of PNG files, and I wonder if it made a "Dump" of all the textures of the game without going to each zone of the game. (I just went to the title screen).

-How do we rework/redo textures ? Roughly. (Link, video tutorial...)

-Is it better to rework or redo the textures from scratch ? Do you have any advice, links (video or others) to create/rework textures ? And what software is used ?

-What exactly are the".AAR" files ?

Thank you to those who will answer. Smile
Quote:I wonder if it made a "Dump" of all the textures of the game without going to each zone of the game. (I just went to the title screen).

Just FYI, texture dumping in Dolphin happens automatically (I mean, once you enable the option). It basically dumps all textures that are sitting in the GC/Wii's emulated memory. Many games tend to load textures into memory that may not be related to the current screen (often for the next scene or whatever) so they're available later. It cuts back on the amount of data that needs to be transferred back and forth from the disc. So if you see textures being dumped that don't appear on-screen, this is normal. For the title screen, for example, it's going to load up a bunch of textures associated with the rest of the game menus, and maybe even stuff for some levels/zones/stages/etc.