Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Help me choose from these laptops?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hey guys! So after returning my Asus Zenbook UX430UN due to heating issues and throttling, I'm in the market for a new laptop! I have a few that I'm keeping an eye on and wanted to get your opinion on them since Dolphin is really the only gaming-related thing I'm worried about at this juncture.

Budget is $1000-$1800, I'm also a designer/video producer on the go so I'm looking for something with a good amount of battery than can handle media production, has 90-100% RGB range, and that doesn't have heating issues and problems with a lot of throttling. Let me know if I can answer any more questions.

1. ASUS ZenBook Pro 15 UX550GE
Pros: Expensive. The build quality and speakers I loved from my UX430UN, possibly better heat management now thanks to a dual fan setup and 3 heat pipes, i7-8750HK + GTX 1050 Ti offer plenty of power.
Cons: Doesn't release until August 18th, so I can't find any impressions or reviews, past models had heat and throttling issues, unnecessary 4K touchscreen brings the price up, micro SD card slot (why?), i7-8750HK + GTX 1050 Ti offer plenty of heat.

2. MSI Laptop PS42 8RB
Pros: LOVE that small, silver build, amazing heat management for such a small package, MX150 is the 25w version, PERFECT price point, 10 hour battery, excellent ports, great color range, seemingly the full package?
Cons: That damn Spider Man 2 ass font on the keyboard! WHY!? I wish it didn't bug me as much as it does, but I really hate it. The touchpad is also small and apparently the click is very loud? Speakers are also apparently not great, MX150 seems like a great GPU, but obviously not the most powerful thing out there.

3. MSI GS65 Stealth