Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Frame Dumping: Can we have the codec selection option back please?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Hi there, people of the Dolphin forums. This is my first time posting here, but I've been using Dolphin for about 5 years now. I'd like to ask a curious question about frame dumping, which is a very important feature to me.

I've been using frame dumping for many years. It's what I always used to record game footage for my video projects. It has been incredibly helpful for me as it was a very handy tool for getting high quality lossless footage with relative ease. And even when my PC specs weren't that good, I could still count on the footage having zero frame drops or slowdowns even on very high graphics settings. And it was all because it allowed me to pick the codec I wanted. My codec of choice has always been Ut Video Codec Suite which is very fast (or at least much faster than the default Uncompressed option) and reliable and has both YUV and lossless RGB options. I believe the last version of Dolphin to have the codec selection option was 4.0-8570.

But then all the future revisions of Dolphin after that did away with the option altogether, which I found disappointing as it essentially leaves me with only two dumping options, neither of which are particularly great: one lossy option that encodes at an extremely low quality and one lossless option that's much slower and clunkier than Ut Video Codec and is not even compatible with either VirtualDub or my video editing software of choice. It also even has some frame drops and slowdowns on occasion.