Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Option to force shader recompiling (Ubershaders)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello,

So while this option may seem a bit weird to have initially, let me explain.

I've been playing Metroid Prime 2: Echoes (NGC) the last week and it runs perfectly on my computer (except for the small laggspikes when moving out of water or opening a portal (refraction?)) but yesterday I encountered something weird when I started the game.. The main menu had a green overlay and when I loaded my save it looked like this:
[Image: Qt5V816.png]
[Image: STairp9.png]
[Image: GT9qNfE.png]

So that was weird.. As I'm a programmer myself I knew it had something to do with shaders or textures missing, then I remembered saying that driver updates, swapping GPU or anything like that might invalidate the shader cache used by the Ubershaders and they'd have to be compiled again.. Now let luck have it that the night before Windows decided to update. I believe it also updated my graphics drivers among other things.. So ok.. I'll need dolphin to recompile shaders for me..

No problem, let's see.. Dolphin directory.. Hmm where does Dolphin keep its compiled shaders.. Not here anywhere..
Ok perhaps it keeps it elsewhere, lets check %appdata% .. Not in the roaming folder, not in the local folder..., come on this is the spot where application data should be kept.. even temporary..
C:\ProgramData\ perhaps? Nope not here, Ok let's google quickly, saves are kept in My Documents, ok lets have a look there.

Ok My Documents it was, though a bit weird to keep all the other data in here too but sure.. Now to find the shaders..
"Documents\Dolphin Emulator\Cache\Shaders" That seems like it, now delete it all and Dolphin would have to force a shader recompile.