Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Directx 11 exclusive mode no audio through HDMI
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

BLUE_FIRE

Hi!

This is my first time in the forum so hi to everybody Smile

I've been using Dolphin for years and I've never had any problem until now. I have a pretty old ATI graphics card and I've always used OpenGL as my graphic backend as I've never noticed any difference in performance between it and Directx11 one (this one is supposed to work better for ATI cards), and because after reading all progress reports I think that it's more mature.

But now I've been doing some tests with Ubershaders and I've changed to DirectX11 as suggested and I've discovered a ¿bug? that is driving me nuts.

I always play in my TV connected trough HDMI to my computer, with both screens duplicated and sound playing fine in the TV via HDMI, but with DirectX11 backend when I turn to fullscreen exclusive I get no sound at all in the TV. I run Dolphin, it boots in a small window, I run the game, it plays sound but then I press ALT+Enter to switch to fullscreen and sound goes away.

This is a summary of what I've tested and the results that I've got in my TV connected through HDMI:

OpenGL video backend:
  • Windowed: sound is OK
  • Fullscreen exclusive mode: sound is OK
  • Borderless fullscreen: sound is OK

DirectX video backend (it doesn't matters if ubershaders are on or off):
  • Windows: sound is OK
  • Fullscreen exclusive mode: no sound at all (even if I switch again to windowed mode).
  • Borderless fullscreen: sound is OK

If I change the display options in Windows to use only my TV as primary screen, the results are the same.

If in the sound options I choose as audio output the computer speakers instead of the AMD HDMI Output I always get sound through them.