Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Using the Wii Store
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I'm completely new to this and I've been looking a different ways to run game emulators on my pc. The easiest way I can think of is to just buy games off of the wii store, and paly them through dolphin without ever ripping a disc. Is it possible to purchase a game in the Wii store, and play it in dolphin emu without ever copying files from my Wii? thanks
(05-29-2017, 01:13 PM)jachin99 Wrote: [ -> ]I'm completely new to this and I've been looking a different ways to run game emulators on my pc.  The easiest way I can think of is to just buy games off of the wii store, and paly them through dolphin without ever ripping a disc.  Is it possible to purchase a game in the Wii store, and play it in dolphin emu without ever copying files from my Wii?  thanks

The Wii is not like the Wii U in that respect. Meaning the big name Wii games were mostly only available on disc. I think you're going to have to learn how to rip them, or find a friend who can rip them for you. I rip all my games on my hacked Wii. This is not as difficult to do as you might think -- the hardest part is finding the steps/process to do it.
(05-29-2017, 01:13 PM)jachin99 Wrote: [ -> ]Is it possible to purchase a game in the Wii store, and play it in dolphin emu without ever copying files from my Wii?

No. You need to copy system files from your Wii before you can use the Wii Shop Channel in Dolphin.

And besides, most games aren't available in the Wii Shop Channel, like the previous post says.
I'm not really trying to use it for most Wii games. I'm looking more at downloading nes snes and n64 games and then copying those.  Either way, If I still have to copy those games, it defeats the purpose of using the store for most games.