Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Is "native" res accurate?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2

vice350z

Hello, newbie here to the site. Been messing around with Dolphin. What a great emulator! Anywho, "native" resolution is what the Wii resolution is correct? So playing a game in the Native res is accurate to what it looked like playing on he actual Wii?

I only ask because I played a little Sonic All Stars Racing to see how the emulator runs and comparing Native to 4K the difference is amazing. Native is so jaggy looking. Is that how the game actually looked on Wii? I can't remember, its been so long since I played my Wii.

Screen shots just to show...so this is how crappy the game looked on Wii back in the day? I don't remember it being so jaggy.

[Image: SDSonic.jpg]

Then with some graphical adjustments. It's hard to believe that's a Wii game. The upscaling is amazing. It looks like a Wii U game now. 

[Image: HDSonic.jpg]
Yes, it was actually that jaggy when rendered by a real Wii. But many people used composite cables with their Wiis, reducing the image quality so much that the jaggies became hard to see.
Also, even if the screen is a large TV, when you're as far away from the TV as you usually are if you're sitting on a couch or something, it's harder to see fine details like that on the screen than it is with a laptop that's right in your face. Generally on a TV it ends up looking blurry rather than jagged.

vice350z

ah yes, forgot about composite and even playing on an old 4:3 tube TV...just the same way it made even lower res Genesis and SNES games look "better". Thanks for the reminders.