Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Do later Dolphin versions have higher CPU requirements?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
I'm new to Dolphin, running an old i5 processor (2500k) with a new graphics card (rx 480). So far the results on gamecube games have been underwhelming, and I'm exploring the different tweaks I can do. I'm running on 5.0 right now, but I'm curious if the CPU requirements are lower if I explored a 4 build, or 3 or 3.5. Any thoughts?

Thanks.
On an i5-2500K, you should be able to run most games fine. What are you trying to play?
5.0 needs less CPU requirements than older versions. Also, latest development versions are even faster thanks to improvements like branch following.
Lower CPU requirements. GPU requirements went up a couple notches though. Basically recent Intel HD GPUs mostly fine for 1x resolution, but 1080p+ resolutions need anything a couple notches above that. Doesn't even need to be a particularly good or recent GPU.
(02-07-2017, 01:46 PM)JMC47 Wrote: [ -> ]On an i5-2500K, you should be able to run most games fine.  What are you trying to play?

I started out trying Rogue Squadron, until I realized that was a tougher one to pull off.  Since then, I've been testing with Smash Bros Melee and Mario Kart Double Dash.  On Melee, I get static in audio in every setting, and FPS as low as the teens.  The best level in Melee is only marginally playable.  It just seems like it's not running like it should from everything I've read given my specs, and I just can't find any tweak in the settings that unlocks it.

From the other responses, it sounds like I should keep working with 5 and the 5 development versions instead of trying to go back to earlier versions.

Thanks for the responses.  I'm not sure what I should do next.