Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Guidelines on Custom Texture Organization?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

iChillum

Hello everyone; long time lurker and someone just getting started in posting in the forums here.  As I have looked through the threads of custom texture projects, I note that a very common point of contention is whether or not the textures have been organized.  Having looked through a few texture packages, I noted that there were some fairly common folder structures - but it begged the question in my mind on whether or not there is a guide or set of community guidelines that have been created on optimal organization structure with folders.

Long story short, I'm a long time graphics hobbyist that has spent the last 1 1/2 months working on a custom UHD texture project for Monkey Ball 2 on GameCube and rebuilding most of the textures from scratch.  I've been simply focused on the textures themselves up until this point, but now that I am over 2,000 textures deep including mipmaps, I'm starting to get concerned that I should maybe start organizing now so it isn't a Herculean feat later on.  I'm hoping to gear up for releasing an initial beta soon, so this is at the top of my mind.  Apologies in advance if there is a thread that discusses this topic, but is there any sage advice from fellow texture creators on my question?

And not to tease, if anyone was curious below are a few screenshot comparisons on my progress to-date (and much more completed):

SMB2 WIP Screenshots: