Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Typical Performance?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Edit: I have now run Dolphin 64-bit and have results or the EXACT PC below - The processor is OC'ed to 3.25GHz/core (peaks at 48C under full load), and the GPU is overclocked to 600MHz, but reports that it runs at 680MHz. Read my post on the next page.

Hi, I'm rather new to GC emulation, but what should I expect out of Dolphin? 40FPS most games? My PC is currently in a UPS truck fresh from Newegg:

Win 7 64-bit (when I get it, going to install)
AMD Athlon II X4 620 Propus 2.6GHz (OC to 3.25GHz)
4GB G.SKILL DDR2 1066MHz RAM
785G Integrated Graphics (Radeon HD 4200), 500MHz w/DX10.1
Using the most recent 64-bit build of Dolphin.

Is this decent enough to run things like Zelda: WW, Double Dash, Sunshine, and Melee (60fps?) Thanks for the help.
Without a doubt you should be able to run those games nicely, though i can't opinion-ate on sunshine.
I heard Zelda Tp and WW recently got a burst in speed.
On my minimal machine i run melee full speed & the same for Duble Dash. (Under the Dx plugin)

Nice pc choice btw.
Thanks for the suggestions, and I thought it was a pretty good budget PC =)
I was just really curious because I've had not-so-stellar performance on my old 2.4GHz Pentium 4 (400MHz FSB!!) w/7600GS. Melee and Sunshine both were playable, but at speeds so low it REALLY wasn't worth it. Like 3-5FPS. One more thing, if games run at under 60FPS like 30-40FPS, will it actually slow down emulation or is frame skipping implemented?
frame skipping is implemented.
the only problem you may have is a limited resolution of the games. (maybe too stuttering in high resolutions with 1280+)
you may have problems with resoolutions higher than 800x600 on this integrated graphics card (i used to use a HD3300)