Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: *New to Dolphin* Is this computer powerful enough to play these games using Dolphin?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

ThePowerPlayer

To start off, here are my PC specs:
Windows 10 Pro (Version 1607) (Dell) (Latitude E6410)

Intel® Core™ i5 CPU Processor (M 560 @ OS  2.67 GHz)

4.00 GB RAM (3.80 GB usable)

64-bit operating system, x64-based processor

OS Build: 14393.222

GPU: Intel® HD Graphics (Core i5)

Available space on Local Disk (C:) at the time of this post: 130 GB free of 232 GB

Version of Dolphin: 5.0 x64 (obtained from the official site)

I am pretty new to using Dolphin, but I have recently tried to apply certain settings to the emulator in order to get games to run at 60 FPS. It only succeeded in fixing audio issues (music and sound slowdown when the framerate was slow). Most games will still usually run at 30 FPS. Are there any settings I could apply to get games to run at 60 FPS? Are my PC specs alright to run Dolphin, or should I buy a gaming PC specifically designed for Dolphin and other PC games?

Here are the games I plan on playing (mostly GameCube games), sorted by priority. There might not be every game I want to play on this list (because I don't remember ALL the games I played as a kid), but for the most part, they're here. I expect the graphics of the games to be at least just like the original games, if not a little low-resolution.

VERY HIGH
  • Mario Kart: Double Dash!!
    Super Monkey Ball 2
    Super Monkey Ball
    SpongeBob SquarePants: Creature from the Krusty Krab
    Animal Crossing: City Folk

HIGH
  • Mario Kart Wii
    Super Paper Mario
    My Word Coach
    Wii Sports Resort
    Kirby Air Ride
    My Word Coach

NORMAL
  • Sonic Mega Collection

LOW
  • Ty the Tasmanian Tiger
    Sonic Heroes