Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: *New to Dolphin* Is this laptop ok?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

enzoamore

Acer Aspire E 15
6th Generation Intel Core i5-6200U Processor (Up to 2.8GHz)
15.6-inch Full HD Display, NVIDIA GeForce 940MX with 2GB DDR5 VRAM
8GB DDR4 Memory, 256GB SSD

As topic states, I am new to Dolphin. How well will this work, or rather what wouldn't work? What would be my best option as far as laptops are concerned to run most games well? Thanks for any help in advance.

Edit: My main intent is to play Gamecube games, mostly Paper Mario, Sunshine, Luigi's Mansion, Zelda games, Pikmin, Lord of the Rings, and other various RPGs. Maybe a couple Wii games as well (Super Paper Mario, Mario Bros. Wii, Mario Kart).
I've looked at various other computers, particularly those with specs matching those I saw in the FAQ on dolphin-emu.org, but wanted to see if anyone could help further point me in the right direction.
It's a fairly decent laptop for lighter games. I suspect you won't have much trouble with the games you listed, but do note that minor slowdowns could crop up. The i5-6200U should do fine under most circumstances, but it technically is an ultra-low voltage CPU, meaning it's designed to consume less electrical power at the expense of computing power. So, regular CPUs from Intel around the same speed would technically perform better. As it concerns Dolphin, as long as you don't try some of the more "heavy" games, you should get by. I don't see an issue with the GPU either. Should play a lot of stuff in HD without slowdowns, I think (not 100% sure, but more sure than not sure).