Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Intel Sandybridge or bust?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey everybody. I'm pretty new to the whole dolphin scene so I hope to get some constructive criticism/help. I've got a pretty solid PC, however some components are a few years old now (I'm looking at you i5 Sandybridge CPU, mobo, and DDR3 RAM). It's been a pretty solid rig for PC gaming though at 1440p and I fought off the urge to upgrade my system core (CPU/mobo/RAM) to a newer architecture. However, now I'm playing with dolphin. I'd love to be able to play my GC/Wii library on my TV with insane visuals since using my BC Wii to play Wii/GC games on a larger LCD TV looks like garbage at best.

I know my graphics card (Strix GTX 980ti) is up to the task, but I've seen some people say anything earlier than Haswell on the CPU should be upgraded. That being said, my Sandybridge i5 is overclocked to 4.2ghz so is it really necessary?

Some games seem to run pretty solid at normal Dolphin settings, but others have some issues (ex. Rogue Squadron 2 and SSX tricky). I haven't had a chance to go through my whole library yet.

Anyway, can anybody tell me if my rig should be adequate and it's more about Dolphin configuration (or game compatibility) or if there's a possible hardware concern?

Thanks in advance.
Quote:my Sandybridge i5 is overclocked to 4.2ghz so is it really necessary?
For most games ? No , your CPU is fast enough
Rogue Squadron is just too demanding for your CPU . To run that game at full speed , you will need sth like Haswell G3258 @ 4.6GHz
Haswell is 30-35% faster than Sandy Bridge in Dolphin benchmark , i5 2500k @ 4.2GHz is equivalent to Pentium / i3 /i5 Haswell @ 3.2GHz
(07-12-2016, 12:57 PM)admin89 Wrote: [ -> ]For most games ? No , your CPU is fast enough