Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Trying to achieve 60 fps.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hey there!

I'm new to Dolphin and emulation in general. I'm not looking for REALLY great visuals, I just want my games to run at their intended framerate (or at least in the range of 2-3 frames off).

The only games I really have played so far are Super Smash Bros. Melee, and Mario Kart Double Dash. Both of these games are intended to be at 60 fps. However, I'm running into frequent frame drop issues. Double Dash runs somewhere between 50-57 on Mushroom cup, but gets worse on flower and star. Melee runs good on most stages 1v1, but any attempt at 3-4 players or Fountain of Dreams, and I lose frames considerably. Is there an easy way JUST to get a solid framerate? The graphics themselves don't matter as much to me. Is this due to my computer specs? Should this be in the support threads? Haha. Big Grin

AMD Athlon X4 760K Quad Core CPU (3.80 GHz)
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960
8GB RAM
Dolphin 5.0
No Overclocks

EDIT: I'm not receiving graphical errors, like warped textures.
Your CPU is not fast enough. Try overclocking or getting a new Intel CPU (AMD CPUs have really slow single threaded performance compared to INtel CPUs)
You need to upgrade your CPU. It's fine for lightweight games, as you have seen yourself, but as soon as it gets more demanding, you will suffer from poor performance.
Any recent Intel CPU (Haswell or newer) will be *much* better than AMD CPUs.

Alternatively, if you don't want to upgrade, you can try overclocking. It could help a little.
(07-07-2016, 03:40 AM)leolam Wrote: [ -> ]You need to upgrade your CPU. It's fine for lightweight games, as you have seen yourself, but as soon as it gets more demanding, you will suffer from poor performance.
Any recent Intel CPU (Haswell or newer) will be *much* better than AMD CPUs.