Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Dolphin Netplay: SSBM struggles, assistance needed!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

philbernstien

Hello,

So I'm a dolphin/netplay noob. I've read the FAQ , Netplay, and other required thread reads and I'm somewhat certain I can post and hopefully have my prayers answered. Then again, if there is an identical thread out there, my b.

I am currently living in Southwest China in the spring city of Kunming. In China foreigners are  unable to use any of the internet cafes that locals utilize for gaming, so I recently went to a chinese electronic outlet mall and purchased what i believed at the time were the required specs for running dolphin and specifically playing Super Smash Bros. Melee on netplay. After a lot of haggling and really bad chinese, I was able to buy the hardware as listed below. I was also able to get all the other pieces of equipment via TaoBao (chinese ebay) and used electronics stores (mayflash adapter, a new gc controller, a mouse, keyboard, 5m cat6 ethernet cable, and monitor.) I downloaded dolphin 4.0-7840-64x as that is the required version for SSBM netplay.  I tested out the emulator and wow it ran perfectly at 60fps. No issues whatsoever. All was right.

However, after finding someone to play with online (he was located in Hong Kong) the next day, i quickly realized the difficult part was just beginning. I was given the 8digit code using the traversal server ( this is the guide i followed https://www.smashladder.com/guides/view/...play-guide ). ANYWAYS I couldn't connect. So then I tried to host, and after many tries, we finally connected. Only problem was the ping was at 17572189560073324..... Does that mean I set the buffer to 1965? jk. The guy thought my internet was bad or something so I said thanks and went to researching what was wrong via google.