Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: total noob to emulators.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
When I say noob I mean like starting yesterday. I have dolphin 4.0.2 x64 installed. I wanted to make sure that my computer is powerful enough to run some of the more graphic intense games (I am guessing they are more intense) I.E. Metroid Prime, Zelda Twilight princess. Have already tried out Metroid, it looks pretty but I am having some frame rate issues. It bounces back and fourth, between 60 fps and 15 ish fps. I looked at several videos and and threads but this is just kicking my but. I figured if I can get this game working I should be able to get any of them working....But before I go any further I just wanted to make sure my laptop is even worth using Dolphin on.

*edit* sorry forgot to enable my signature that shows my computer specs. Also if there is anything else that I should put there please let me know...
Your specs are more than okay for Dolphin.

First off, upgrade to the latest development release. 4.0.2 is two years old.

Second, what you're hitting is shader compilation, because the GC/Wii doesn't use shaders and computers do, we have to basically compile shaders as we need them, The first time you do this for every shader you need for a particular game your framerate will plummet. As you play the game though, that stutter will go away as we eventually cache up the shaders needed for that game.
(01-06-2016, 05:36 PM)helios747 Wrote: [ -> ]Your specs are more than okay for Dolphin.

First off, upgrade to the latest development release. 4.0.2 is two years old.