Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Will my Upgrade run Dolphin flawlessly (for the most part)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hey guys

I'm planning on upgrading my PC for a number of reasons and one of them is my system stutters when playing certain games on Dolphin. And they aren't small simple stutters, I'm actually talking about heavy frame drops to about 30-40 fps (if that) 

Now, I'm relatively familar with Dolphin as I've been using it for about 4-5 years now and I've tried virtually every different setting and it still lags. So just to make sure, I'm coming here to verify that my upgrade will be able to run most (if not all games) at full speed at about 2-3x IR.

The games I was talking about btw were:
Samurai Warriors 3
Sengoku Basara: Samurai Heroes
Mario Galaxy 1&2
Mario Kart Wii (when I started to bump up the IR)

My upgraded rig will be

i7 2700k (as I already have a z77 board and I found a 2700k for dirt cheap)
16gb of RAM (because I video edit)
R9 290x (again because I found it for really cheap)
500gb SSD blah blah etc.

So looking at this, I should be able to run most games fine now right? Becuase my current rig met the requirements for Dolphin but it still lagged for certain games.

Thanks.
CPU is more than enough for Dolphin, same for the GPU… That build should definitely run most if not all games at full speed! Just make sure you are using the latest development builds. (You might still have some small stuttering caused by shader compilation, but you probably already know this)

Just curious, how much did you find the CPU and GPU for?
(01-03-2016, 09:23 AM)Way2much Wrote: [ -> ]Hey guys

I'm planning on upgrading my PC for a number of reasons and one of them is my system stutters when playing certain games on Dolphin. And they aren't small simple stutters, I'm actually talking about heavy frame drops to about 30-40 fps (if that)