Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Planning to Build a New Computer
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I've never built a computer before and I've read the Dolphin FAQ and looked at what parts are recommended.  I have two parts lists, and I don't know which one is better or if both are absolutely terrible.  One I made myself and the other one I got from some guy off pcpartpicker.com.  Please tell me which of the two would be better for dolphin, and if there are any problems with the better one could you recommend me a part or parts that would work better than the ones I have?  I doubt I'll be playing any games at high resolution or with HD graphics and stuff, and what I'll be doing most is playing Melee or PM on Netplay.  My main aim is good FPS with these two games.

PC #1:

CPU: Intel Core i5-4670 3.4GHz Quad-Core
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-H97M-D3H Micro ATX LGA1150
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1866
Video card: Gigabyte Radeon R9 285 2GB WINDFORCE 2X
Operating system: Windows 7, and I may upgrade to Windows 10 if it's still free by the time I build the computer.

PC #2:

CPU: Intel Core i5-4460 3.2GHz Quad-Core
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-H97M-D3H Micro ATX LGA1150
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600
Video card: MSI GeForce GTX 960 2GB
Operating system: Windows 7, and I may upgrade to Windows 10 if it's still free by the time I build the computer.

I already went over my budget a bit with both of these, so if you want to recommend some parts please don't go even more expensive.  Here's a link to the full builds (with prices) just for convenience:

PC #1: http://pcpartpicker.com/user/Bravegrunt/...iew=nK2MnQ
PC #2: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/PpwKmG

Sorry if this post seems needy, but I know very little about building computers other than what I read in the Dolphin FAQ and in some book I bought.