Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: New Computer for Dolphin
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

ZeldaFan27

Hello, everybody

Right now, I just own a low office laptop for my study, which is to weak for Dolphin. So I decided to buy me a new computer, that I can play Gamecube/Wii Games in 720P. Im a complete newbie with emulations, and just watched a few videos, where the people wrote their specifications. So I searched, but just found similar specifications, thats why im not sure how/if it would work.

Games I want play in 720P/30FPS for Gamecube:

- Zelda Twilight Princess
- Zelda Wind Waker
- Skies of Arcadia
- Baten Kaitos
- Starfox Adventures
- Metroid Prime 1/2

Games I want play in 720P/30FPS for Wii:

- Metroid Prime 3
- Pandoras Tower
- The last Story
- Arc Rise Fantasia

My money limit is 500$, and I found this 3 computers:

For 335$

- AMD A8 6600K, 4x 3900 MHz (TurboCore to 4200 MHz)
- 4096 MB DDR3
- Radeon 8570D

For 476$

- Intel Core i5-4460, 4× 3200 MHz (TurboBoost 2.0 to 3400 MHz)
- 8192 MB DDR3
- Intel HD Graphics 4600

For 480$

- AMD Athlon II X4 860K, 4× 3700 MHz (TurboCore to 4000 MHz)
- 8192 MB DDR3
- Geforce GTX 750

Would any of this computers work for my planned games, or maybe other better/cheaper advise? Would be great if someone can help me, because im in a fix with this themes.

Thanks in advance

Marcel
As AMD A10 6790k @ 5.0GHz owner and Intel HD 4600 user , i can tell non of these builds are good for Dolphin and your pocket
If you consider to build your own PC , not some overpriced OEM craps , i will help you choose best bang for buck one
Hint : G3258 can be overclocked well without extra cooling units and it's twice as fast as any AMD CPU . Of course , it will be faster than i5 4460 in Dolphin if you overclock
A certain USB 3.0 PC case for $23
Hitachi 1TB 7200rpm HDD for $43
Asrock Z97 Pro 4 for $85
MSI GTX 750 for $100