Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: NUC5i5RYK
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi guys, newbie here. I have actually just learnt about Dolphin and loving the idea to play Wii games on my HTPC.

Question one - is Intel NUC5i5RYK (with i5 5250U) good enough for this?

Question two - can you please point me to the direction to find out what else I need (apart from games) to play Wii games on my machine?

Thanks heaps!
Nope. Any Ultra Low Wattage CPU is too weak for dolphin.
Actually, some of the ULV models from Broadwell will run Dolphin fairly well, though they all generally have a TDP of 28W or more. The 15W TDP ones top out at around 2.2 GHz, which is enough to play light-weight games

@lomenak - The key, is to look at the base frequency. Never assume you'll consistently hit the top turbo frequency. See here for your options (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Broadwell_...tecture%29) The thing is, good luck finding things like the i5-5300U, or i5-5287U in any pre-made HTPC box. You'll have to source the parts yourself. If you end up building an HTPC yourself, just go with the Pentium G3258. It can overclock without any additional coolers (the stock one is just fine for pushing it to 4GHz) and it's dirt cheap. It'll run circles around any current ULV from Intel (and AMD for that matter).

As for what else you need, a good USB joystick is recommended (usually just use your DS3/4 or 360/Xbone controller). Some Wii games play better with a real wiimote, but most you can get by using a controller instead. Of course, you'll need something to dump/rip the Wii games for you, and the easiest option is using the Homebrew Channel on a Wii (google CleanRip).