Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: asynchronous shaders questions
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
In the Ishiikura builds there's support for that (unofficial builds). While they have problems, they significantly reduce stuttering in the metroid prime series (or other games that has shader caching stuttering). I'm not an expert, but it seems that if the dolphin team will implent them and imrpove their compatibility and fix the issues, then maybe there will finally be a fix for the stuttering issues in the metroid prime series. If that's not the case, what prevent it from happenning?

BigAll

Well, I'm not an expert either, but I would guess that these unofficial builds go against the philosophy of dolphin to make an accurate emulator. Which is confirmed by "The focus is the gaming experience and speed." which I just read at the very beginning of that thread. (https://forums.dolphin-emu.org/Thread-un...om-version)
The main development team would love to include asynchronous shaders; it's not "against Dolphin's philosophy" or anything of the sort. The Ishiruuka developers simply refuse to contribute the feature, and nobody else has volunteered to port it from Ishiruuka. Contributions are welcome, I think, if you'd like to take up such a task!
(07-19-2015, 01:02 PM)Fiora Wrote: [ -> ]The Ishiruuka developers simply refuse to contribute the feature, and nobody else has volunteered to port it from Ishiruuka.
From what I've read, this isn't the case. I thought one or more of the developers for master were against the asynchronous shaders, because they fix the stuttering during shader cache generation by making various game assets simply become invisible if they haven't been generated yet, and said developer(s) thought the speed boost afforded by such an approach was too hackish and buggy.