Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: New to Dolphin... miniATX PC
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi All,

I'm new to Dolphin although not new to PCs or emulators.. I used to have a cheap MAME rig for years but slowly built it up with different emulators like Project64, MESS, WinVICE etc so I wanted something small but dedicated.

I've just built myself a miniATX PC with the following configuration but I want to boost it to be able to play Star Wars Rogue Squadron II at a better resolution and without the game noticeably slowing down (although I maybe asking too much!)

ASUS H81i-PLUS MOBO
INTEL i3-4160 (this was a spare CPU from my Windows Server so this is the one part that formed my setup)
ASAKA CRYPTO X1 miniATX case - http://www.akasa.co.uk/update.php?tpl=pr...-ITX11-A1B
WINDOWS 8.1
4GB DDR3 RAM
60GB SSD for OS
1TB HDD (7200rpm) for EMULATORS & ROMS

Would I benefit from an improved CPU and a dedicated GPU?
Or would just an i5 with HD4600 improve things?
Would more RAM improve things too? Currently the system uses about 60% RAM whilst running Star Wars on Dolphin

The case is small... I can only get a 1x SLOT Low Profile GPU and most I have seen are low end (i think!) cards like:

* Nvidia GeForce GT 720
* SAPPHIRE R7 250 1GB GDDR5 Low Profile
* Asus GT730-SL-2GD3-BRK

I also noticed that CPU seemed to be running at almost 100% in Task Manager but not on both cores.... is this right?

Any help would be gratefully received Smile

Thanks
Jon
Sapphire R7 250 is the best choice here . GT 720 is trash , same as hd 4600 and GT 730 is low-end GPU
Quote:I also noticed that CPU seemed to be running at almost 100% in Task Manager but not on both cores.... is this right?
It's normal , i3 has hyperthreading after all
Dedicated GPU will boost your performance greatly when you run game at high resolution (higher than 2xIR)