Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Laptop - Integrated GPU runs better than dedicated - is that normal?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

Sparkyidr

Hi there. I'm pretty new to using Dolphin, and have a question/issue.

I am running it on a laptop that has an integrated Intel GPU and a dedicated AMD GPU.

Running Super Mario Galaxy, I see the following results.

Using the integrated GPU, the game runs (most of the time) at 60 fps. With a few sections seeing it slow down to around 45-50. The bottleneck I assume is the GPU, as my cpu is running at around 35%, and holding down tab to disable the frame limiter does nothing. (When it's running at 60, holding tab can get the fps up to around 85).

Anyways, I would have assumed that the Radeon GPU would perform better.. So I set Dolphin to run is "high performance" mode, and away I go.

......but it's way worse.
In the opening area of SMG is running at around 49fps(vps49)..and obviously drops to much worse when stuff is going on.

The cpu is still sitting at 35%, and the Radeon is deffo active (as the fans are very loud on it....and I also checked using the software monitor).

Is this normal?

Using the integrated GPU also doesn't perform great on GC games...but still better than the AMD.

I should point out that the above is using 1 x native as the resolution, running at 1280x720 on my old TV via hdmi.
The laptop processor is an i7-4510U, the AMD is a Radeon R7 M260(2gb), the Intel is an HD 4400.

Am I doing something wrong? Or is this "expected"

Thanks for reading.
Have you followed this guide: https://forums.dolphin-emu.org/Thread-un...ance+guide

Also, are you running the latest 14.2 amd drivers?

What happened when you use a build before 4.0-5143?

Sparkyidr

(01-20-2015, 02:52 AM)KHg8m3r Wrote: [ -> ]Have you followed this guide: https://forums.dolphin-emu.org/Thread-un...ance+guide