Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: An Unofficial Guide to building or upgrading a system specifically for dolphin
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Ok so I've been browsing these boards for 5 years now and during that entire time this forum has been absolutely flooded with "help me build a dolphin PC!" and "which component should I upgrade next?" threads.  And 95% of the time they're given the exact same advice over and over and over again.  I thought it might be nice to organize some of the common statements into a reference thread that can be copy/pasta or linked to.  A lot of this stuff is covered in the faq but not everything.  Although it would be nice to have that stuff stickied somewhere on the forums since clearly not everybody reads the FAQ or is even aware of its existence.  I would highly recommend anyone new here to read through the "Hardware and system requirements" section of the faq first:  https://dolphin-emu.org/docs/faq/#what-o...-supported

Frequently Asked Questions

Laptops vs Desktops vs NUCs:
We get asked this constantly.  Desktops are always strongly recommended whenever possible.  For some of you the extra mobility of a laptop or space saving of a NUC may be a requirement and if that's the case then there is not much that can be done.  But whenever you are given a choice most of us here will recommend you to get a desktop.  Why?  Because they offer much faster hardware for the same or less money.  Dolphin is an extremely demanding application and laptops/NUCs that can actually run most games well are usually pretty expensive.  And even they pale in comparison to your average desktop build.  We can still give you advice on good NUCs/laptops if you require one though.

Prebuilt vs DIY desktop: