Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Can this gaming laptop deliver?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I've been eyeing the MSI GS60 Ghost Pro for quite some time and have been wondering if I could play games at 60 frames such as Starfox Adventures, F-Zero GX, and Metroid Prime on this model with the latest dolphin: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...6834152656. The settings on the games can be what equates to low/med on others. In other words, something like 1x or 2x IR is okay with me. Yes, I find the lowest possible settings, if at 60 frames, playthroughable in my eyes. It doesn't look that bad right?

Specs:
- NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970M 3GB
- Intel Core i7 4710HQ (2.50GHz) (Also, I read of cpuboss that this can overclock to 3.5 GHz, I'm a noob to overclocking, but I can learn.)
- 12GB Memory 1TB HDD 128GB SSD
- Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Any answers would be great. Thanks in advance.

Also, if this will not cut it even when overclocking, can anybody steer me in the direction of another laptop that can with around the same budget?
Let me give you some advice, never overclock a laptop cpu. They do not have the cooling capabilities to overclock well.

The i7 4710HQ is a good choice for dolphin and it turbo boosts by itself to a higher clock speed so don't worry about that.

Seems pretty overpriced though..
(12-31-2014, 06:54 AM)yl-smash Wrote: [ -> ]Let me give you some advice, never overclock a laptop cpu.  They do not have the cooling capabilities to overclock well.

The i7 4710HQ is a good choice for dolphin and it turbo boosts by itself to a higher clock speed so don't worry about that.

Seems pretty overpriced though..

Is there any laptop with the same specs with a much lower price? Also, will I expect very, very playable framerates on the games I listed? Idc if I have to play on low-ass settings, as long as they run at 60 frames solid, I'm good.