Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Netplay issues
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Heya guys,

unbelievable, but it's just the first time now that I've tried out Netplay with Dolphin.
Unfortunately, it didn't work. My friend and I used the same new version of Dolphin (from yesterday, also tried that 11 months old DC-Netplay-build, though), the same game version and mostly the same settings (some differing graphics settings like IR shouldn't be an issue, right?).
The issue is a 'connection failed'. Now, maybe I did something stupidly wrong. We don't have to boot up the game before, right?
I just start netplay, write some 'nickname', select a game and click on 'host', right? Then my friend just puts my IP into the 'Address' field and clicks 'connect', right?
So I thought it was some firewall issue (and I'm not very good with that kind of stuff). I made an exception for Dolphin (or rather two, for in- and outgoing stuff) in the Windows firewall and in my router config... well, that's kinda complicated so I couldn't really figure it out. However, even when I disabled the router firewall, it didn't work.

Any idea?
Did you port forward?
Uuuh, like I said, I'm not good with those things. You mean, make an exception for that 2626 port in the router firewall? Like I said, my router's config interface is kinda weird, so I didn't really get it. However, it even didn't work when I disabled the router firewall, so there must be another issue, right?
Google how to port forward on your kind of router. It's not the same as a firewall; each router has their own definitions and ways of handling things, so I can't really help much.
Ah, ok. I thought that was firewall stuff. Ok, I found it now and configured it. I'm gonna try it later and report back. Thanks for now Smile
Alright, it worked!