Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Purchasing a new computer for Dolphin - some help with specs please!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2

goldedark007

I am relatively new to this. The current PC I own (which I do not think can run Dolphin but I have been using for running other games) is an HP a6200n with the following specs:

AMD Anthlon 64 x2 Dual Core Processor 5000+ 2.60 GHz
2GB RAM
Windows Vista Home Premium x32...

upon looking this over it's beyond obvious this machine can't handle Dolphin!

I am looking to purchase a new gaming PC. This would mostly be for running Dolphin, a few games, some emulators, and maybe for video/audio processing (obviously not while playing any games!). I am hoping to purchase a pre-built computer that can handle running Dolphin (at 1080p at least) with minimal to no hiccups (I understand not all games run 100%, but I would like to prevent any other problems then those caused by a game not being fully supported by Dolphin). I am looking at a bunch of computers including a Dell with the following specs:

Intel Core i7-4790 Processor 3.6GHz
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
8GB DDR3-1600 RAM
1TB 7,200RPM Hard Drive
NVIDIA GeForce GT 720
Bluetooth 4.0

I notice a lot of talk about the K series on here and some other places (I have no idea why the K series is considered better) so I have been looking at a Powerspec G413 with these specs:

Intel Core i7-4790K Processor 4.0GHz
Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
16GB DDR3-1600 RAM
2TB 7,200RPM Hard Drive
240GB Solid State Drive
AMD Radeon R9-280X