Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Another Build Validation o.0
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

Insomnic

I'm relatively new to Dolphin, but have been emulating for a long time. I've avoided GC/Wii emulation in the past due to the HW reqs and having the consoles readily available, however my recent obsession with having a complete XBMC/RCB setup combined with an aging E6850-based HTPC and the desire for enhanced resolution has lead me here.

I'm sure everyone has seen enough build threads come through here, however I'd love some feedback before I pull the trigger - so I'll try to keep it brief.

CPU: Intel G3258 3.2GHz (will OC)
MB: Asrock Z97E ITX
RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws X (2 x 4GB-1600)
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2GB
PS: Silverstone Strider Gold 450W 80+ Gold Modular (SFX)
HDD: Hitachi Ultrastar 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM
Case: Silverstone RVZ01B Mini-ITX
Heatsync: Noctua NH-L9i
http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2ZPB4D

I'm looking to find that sweet spot (~$600) that will handle 2.5 to 3x IR on most games without having to build a full gaming PC (this will be an emulation/HTPC exclusively). I thought I'd give an OC'd G3258 a chance before I shell out the extra $$ for a i5-4690K/i7-4790K, which I'm assuming my choice in MB will allow for a swap down the road if need be. Can I expect reasonable performance on LOZ:TP and other graphically intensive games?

The same applies for the GPU; I would like to test the waters before I go balls out with a 970. I'm assuming the 750 Ti is still a reasonable balance in price/performance for discrete graphics? I considered either the i3-4330 or i5-4690K and sticking with the Intel HD 4600, however everything I've read here seems to point that the 750 Ti is a small price to pay for the added performance over the integrated graphics (right?).