Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: Is Intel's Xeon CPU a welcome friend of Dolphin?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi there,

this is my first post and I want to give a quick shout out to the developpers at dolphin's heart, it's awesome and I can only admire work like that. I also admire Nintendo of course. They make gaming so much fun! But before I digress, I have some issues. Unfortunately.

I have been playing around with Dolphin's settings and have also been reading a lot of stuff over the past month, but I think at that point my problems might be too specific for further consulting the search option.

I think I have a fairly decent PC setup so I have come to believe that the only source for bad game experience could stem from my misconfiguration the emulator.

I'd like to ask a rather general question and hope that someone has an answer.

I started playing my Mario Galaxy on Dolphin because it just looks so amazing in HD.
At first I didn't tweak hardly anything. I discovered the wiki and adjusted Dolphin accordingly. The game run extremely smoothly, 60fps, 1080p... all was well. But then I started a second game. Smash Bros Brawl. It too ran perfectly, the odd crackle in sound but that's on the console as well.
I then started Mario Galaxy again and it didn't run smoothly anymore. Same with Brawl. I then put all my other games in the directory, the same pattern holds up to this very moment of my writing.
The first start of a game is smooth, near perfect. The second time, third time.... x. time I CANNOT PLAY WITHOUT TWEAKING FOR ~10 MIN.
Sometimes a game just 'doesn't want to'. I experience the worst audio crackling, the framerate drops arbitrarily below 40, in Mario Party it speeds up above 100, same in Zelda SS. If I limit fps it is too slow, sometimes, not all the time. I restart my computer, everything works smoothly. Or not...