Dolphin, the GameCube and Wii emulator - Forums

Full Version: i7-4790K vs. i5-4690K vs. Xeon E3-1231
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello Girls and Guys,

at the moment im building a Gaming-HTPC. I want play the these Games in 1080p with 4 friends (Multiplayer) on 60 FPS.
-Mario Party
-Mario Kart
-F-Zero
-Timesplitters
-Maybe some Wii Games too
-(No Zelda!)
-And some current/future PC-Games (Project Cars, the next GTA, Metal Gear)

I´ve already read that Dolphin is CPU demanding so i need help to choose the right CPU for that. I´ve picked three CPU´s for the further selection:
1. i7-4790K 4x4,0 GHz (300 Euros)
2. i5-4690K 4x3,5 GHz (205 Euros)
3. Xeon E3-1231 v3, 4x 3.40GHz (215 Euros)

Pro and Contra:
-The i7 and i5 have a iGPU.
-The Xeon and the necessary Mainboard would be the cheapest of all.
-The i7 and i5 can be OC (but i have no experience in it and my Chase is so small there is no place for Water or Big Air-Tower Cooling!!!)

Which of thoose CPU´s would you recommended?. Would be the clockspeed (on stock, No OC!) of 4x 3,5 GHz (i5-4690k) enough to play these games on my prefered settings (1080p, 60 FPS with 4 friends playing together?!)

Big thanks. You guys doing a great works!
You can also count on G3258. You can overclock higher than 4.0 GHz with Intel stock cooler.
Get the i7 4790k, especially since you mentioned 4 player the stock clock on that is perfect
Any of them should be more than enough to run all of the games you want, without overclocking if you use the very latest development revisions (see https://dolphin-emu.org/download/ 4.0-3518 is the latest as of this writing). These builds have massive speed improvements, so you shouldn't have any trouble with any of them.